/ Multi-Agency Public Protection Arrangements (MAPPA)

 MAPPA (Multi-Agency Public Protection Arrangements) are a set of arrangements to manage the risk posed by the most serious sexual and violent offenders (MAPPA-eligible offenders) under the provisions of sections 325 to 327B of the Criminal Justice Act 2003.

  • They bring together the Police, Probation and Prison Services in each of the 42 Areas in England and Wales into what is known as the MAPPA Responsible Authority.
  • A number of other agencies are under a Duty To Co-operate (DTC) with the Responsible Authority. These include Social Services, Health Trusts, Youth Offending Teams, Jobcentre Plus and Local Housing and Education Authorities.
  • The Responsible Authority is required to appoint two Lay Advisers to sit on each MAPPA area Strategic Management Board (SMB) alongside senior representatives from each of the Responsible Authority and duty to co-operate agencies.
  • Lay Advisers are members of the public with no links to the business of managing MAPPA offenders and act as independent, yet informed, observers; able to pose questions which the professionals closely involved in the work might not think of asking. They also bring to the SMB their understanding and perspective of the local community (where they must reside and have strong links).

Annual Reports

How MAPPA works

  • MAPPA-eligible offenders are identified and information about them is shared by the agencies in order to inform the risk assessments and risk management plans of those managing or supervising them.
  • In the majority of cases that is as far as MAPPA extends but in some cases, it is determined that active multi-agency management is required. In such cases there will be regular MAPPA meetings attended by relevant agency practitioners.
  • There are 3 categories of MAPPA-eligible offender: Category 1 - registered sexual offenders; Category 2 – (in the main) violent offenders sentenced to imprisonment for 12 months or more; and Category 3 – offenders who do not qualify under categories 1 or 2 but who currently pose a risk of serious harm.
  • There are three management levels intended to ensure that resources are focused upon the cases where they are most needed; generally those involving the higher risks of serious harm. Level 1 involves ordinary agency management (i.e. no MAPPA meetings or resources); Level 2 is where the active involvement of more than one agency is required to manage the offender but the risk management plans do not require the attendance and commitment of resources at a senior level. Where senior oversight is required the case would be managed at Level 3.

MAPPA in Greater Manchester

MAPPA Support Unit (MSU)
The Greater Manchester MAPPA Support Unit is based alongside the Sex Offender Management Unit (SOMU) at Nexus House Police Station.

The unit provides a support framework, in relation to the management of sexual, violent and dangerous offenders, who fall under the remit of Multi Agency Public Protection Arrangements (MAPPA).

The creation of the unit in 2004 underlined the commitment of both Greater Manchester Police and the National Probation Service (NPS) to the benefits of close cooperation between both organisations in relation to the management of high-risk offenders.

At strategic level, the MSU is able to develop best practice and forge links with other agencies involved in MAPPA work across the county.

The unit’s principle functions are:

(i) The coordination of the MAPPA arrangements for level 2 and level 3 cases across Greater Manchester.

(ii) Providing advice, assistance and training to staff from relevant agencies in relation to the assessment and management of high risk of harm cases.

(iii) Direct management of some high risk and complex cases.

/ Related